Oshoala Nominated For Women’s 2023 Ballon d’Or Award

Oshoala Nominated For Women's 2023 Ballon d'Or Award

For the second year in a row, Super Falcons star Asisat Oshoala has been nominated for the 2023 Ballon d’Or women’s player of the year award.

Oshoala continued to establish herself as the finest African player by becoming the first female African player to be nominated for the Ballon d’Or in 2022, placing 16th out of the 30 players shortlisted.

The Super Falcons star, the reigning Africa women’s player of the year, scored 21 goals in just 28 games to lead FC Barcelona to the 2022/23 Spanish league title and was the Spanish club’s top-scorer with 27 goals in all competitions.

The 28-year-old played a key role in Barcelona retaining their domestic crown and winning the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

Oshoala, a five-time African Player of the Year award winner, made history in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand by becoming the first Nigerian and first female African player to score in three different FIFA World Cups. She has already scored 31 goals and three times won the Women’s African Cup of Nations with the Super Falcons.

2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or full list

  1. Asisat Oshoala – Barcelona/Nigeria
  2. Alba Redondo – Levante Union Deportiva/Spain
  3. Kadidiatou Diani – Lyon/France
  4. Rachel Daly – Aston Villa/England
  5. Linda Caicedo – Real Madrid/Colombia
  6. Fridolina Rolfo – Barcelona/Sweden
  7. Olga Carmona – Real Madrid/Spain
  8. Amanda Ilestedt – Arsenal/Sweden
  9. Hayley Raso – Real Madrid/Australia
  10. Georgia Stanway – Bayern Munich/England
  11. Sophia Smith – Portland Thorns/USA
  12. Hinata Miyazawa – Manchester United/Japan
  13. Salma Paralluelo – Barcelona/Spain
  14. Lena Oberdorf – Wolfsburg/Germany
  15. Millie Bright – Chelsea/England
  16. Daphne van Domselaar – Aston Villa/Netherlands
  17. Sam Kerr – Chelsea/Australia
  18. Patricia Guijarro – Barcelona/Spain
  19. Ewa Pajor – Wolfsburg/Poland
  20. Debinha – Kansas City/Brazil
  21. Guro Reiten – Chelsea/Norway
  22. Yui Hasegawa – Manchester City/Japan
  23. Aitana Bonmati – Barcelona/Spain
  24. Jill Roord – Manchester City/Netherlands
  25. Alexandria Popp – Wolfsburg/Germany
  26. Katie McCabe – Arsenal/Ireland
  27. Mary Earps – Manchester United/England
  28. Wendie Renard – Lyon/France
  29. Mapi Leon – Barcelona/Spain
  30. Khadija Shaw – Manchester City/Jamaica


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here