Netanyahu’s 12 Year Rule As Israel’s PM Ends

Netanyahu's 12 Year Rule As Israel's PM Ends

Israel’s Prime Minister, Benjamin Netanyahu has been removed after 12 years in power.

Israel’s parliament on Sunday voted for a new coalition government which will be led by Naftali Bennett, head of right-wing party Yamina.

It took a rotational agreement and an alliance between left-wing, centrist and right-wing parties; to bring Netanyahu’s rule to an end,

Bennett was sworn in as Prime Minister and will lead the coalition of eight parties after a close 60-59 vote.

As part of the coalition deal, Bennett will be the Prime Minister until 2023 and Yair Lapid, leader of the centrist Yesh Atid, will take charge for another two years.

READ ALSO: Youths, Women To Benefit From Bauchi State’s N1.5bn Empowerment Programme

Netanyahu is the longest-serving prime minister in Israel’s history with a record of five terms.

He was first elected as prime minister from 1996 to 1999, then continuously from 2009 to 2021.

About Author

Aina Adepeju is a Mass Communication graduate. She loves photography, she is a Member of the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) and Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON). Adepeju can be reached via [email protected]

Comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.