Home Sectors EDUCATION & TRAINING Unilag Alumni to Raise N408.5m Scholarships for Indigent, First Class Students

Unilag Alumni to Raise N408.5m Scholarships for Indigent, First Class Students

UNILAG Releases 2020/2021 Admission Cut-Off Mark, See Full List

Unilag Alumni Association, Lagos State branch has projected a total of N408.5million in scholarships to outstanding indigent students and First Class students in 4th-6th year courses in the ivory tower.

While N348million will go to 500 indigent students, N60.5million will be given in scholarships to 100 students with 4.5 and above GPA.

The association also listed some prominent Nigerians including Minister of Communication, Barrister Adebayo Shittu for awards.

The chairman of the association, Dr Lukman Adeoti, stated this during a press briefing heralding the AGM/Annual alumni week of the association held at the Afe Babalola auditorium, University of Lagos, Akoka, recently.

Dr Adeoti while rolling out the achievements of the association, stated that the group has secured 10 hectares of land at Owode, Obafemi, Ogun State and will continue to support students at various levels in order to achieve academic excellence.

He thanked governor Akinwunmi Ambode for his support while also calling on well meaning Nigerians to identify with its programmes tagged ‘Support Our University Projects’, SOUP such as Indigent Students and scholarship awards; Academic Excellence and Professional project where the association organises seminars to help under-achievers students in Third Class and probation as well as Skill Acquisition Training/Entrepreneurial development programme.

As part of the week-long activities, Special Jumaat Prayers will be held at the university Central Mosque today while special Thanksgiving has been slated for Sunday at the UNILAG Chapel.

The event will climax on Sunday with the AGM, election of new officers and Award night.

Prominent among the awardees are Prof Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, FAS, Vice Chancellor of the institution who will be honoured with Distinguished University Administrator Award; Chief Henry Oladele Ajomale, Chairman, All Progressive Congress, APC, Lagos, will be receiving Distinguished Democratic Leadership Award; Babatunde Fowler, Chairman Tax Board will be given Tax Legend Award; Minister of Communication, Barrister Adebayo Shittu, for Innovation in Information and Communication Skill Award; the chairman Police Service Commission, Dr. Mike Okiro among many other distinguished Nigerians.





Leave a ReplyCancel reply

Exit mobile version