Home NEWSLETTER Okada Ban Has Not Been Lifted – Lagos Govt

Okada Ban Has Not Been Lifted – Lagos Govt

Okada Ban Has Not Been Lifted - Lagos Govt

The Lagos State Government has reiterated that the ban on commercial motorcycles, also known as ‘okadas,’ in the metropolis’ 10 Local Government Areas (LGAs) and 15 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) remains in effect.

On Monday, the Special Adviser to the Governor on Transportation, Honourable Sola Giwa, made the announcement.

He reaffirmed the state government’s ban on okada in the affected areas while on a tour of some restricted areas within the state where large numbers of motorcyclists (okada riders) had resumed operations.

Giwa named the local government areas (LGAs) as Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Somolu, Mushin, Apapa, Ikeja, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Surulere, and Eti-Osa, and the local council areas (LCDAs) as Ojodu, Onigbongbo, Lagos Island East, Yaba, and Coker Aguda. Itire-Ikate, Eti-Osa West, Iru Victoria Island, Ikoyi-Obalende, Ikosi-Isheri, Agboyi-Ketu, Isolo, Ejigbo, Bariga, and Odi-Olowo are among others.

The governor’s aide urged the general public to comply after warning both riders and passengers to stay off the road.

According to him, any defaulter who is apprehended and prosecuted faces three years in prison, with their motorcycles impounded and crushed in public view, in accordance with Section 46, sub-sections 1, 2, and 3 of the Transport Sector Reform Law (TSRL), 2018.

Giwa also asked for everyone’s support for government policies, noting that despite the existing interventions and viable alternatives provided for okada operators, which were supposed to cushion the impact of the ban on their livelihood, obstinate riders refused to take advantage of them.



Leave a ReplyCancel reply

Exit mobile version