Jonathan Appoints Okiro PSC Chair Designate

President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday announced the appointment of former Inspector General of Police, Mr. Mike Okiro, as the next chairman of Police Service Commission (PSC). The President further appealed to the Senate to confirm Okiro’s nomination.

The former Inspector general of Police will replace Mr. Parry Osayande, a retired Deputy Inspector General of Police, whose tenure expires soon.

The president also named a former President of the Senate, Senator Ken Nnamani, as the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Chairman-designate and Justice K.M.O. Kekere-Ekun as justice of the Supreme Court. Kekere-Ekun’s nomination as a justice of the Supreme Court is based on the recommendation of the National Judicial Commission (NJC).

The president appealed to the Senate to confirm all the appointments with a sense of urgency.

Jonathan, in a letter to the Senate President, David Mark, said the appointment of Okiro was subject to Section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended) which stipulates that appointments into the PSC shall be subject to Senate’s confirmation.

Other PSC nominees whose confirmation was being sought by the president are Yakubu Mohammed, a retired Deputy Inspector General of Police from Katsina in the North-west; retired Justice Olufunke Adekeye (Osun, South-west); Aisha Tukur (Taraba, North-east); Mrs. Comfort Obi (Imo, South-east); Chief Gem Torngee (Benue, North Central) and Dr. Otive Igbuzor (Delta, South-south).


About Author

This is BizWatchNigeria. Nigeria's first online business Newspaper.

Comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.