Caucus meeting: Jonathan invites six governors, others kick

President Goodluck Jonathan has moved to divide the ranks of the governors elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party by inviting six of them to the party’s national caucus meeting.

The criteria used by the President to invite the governors were however unknown. The President conveyed his decision to the governors concerned and the National Chairman of the party, Dr. Bamanga Tukur, via a letter dated February 27.

In the letter, which was signed by Dr. Mike Oghiadhome, the Chief of Staff to President Jonathan also directed that three ministers be invited for the meeting. With reference number SH/COS70/A/7232, Oghiadhome wrote, “His Excellency, President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan GCFR, has directed that the National Caucus meeting of the PDP be convened on Wednesday March, 6, 2013, in the Banguet Hall, State House, Abuja.

“He has also directed that the following governors be invited to the meeting.” Listed as chosen ones are Ibrahim Shema(Katsina), Isa Yuguda(Bauchi), Gabriel Suswan(Benue) Theodore Orji(Abia), Godswill Akpabio(Cross River) and Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta). The President also directed that three ministers – Justice and Attorney-General, Mohammed Adoke (SAN); Transport, Sen. Idris Umar ,   and the Minister of Petroleum, Mrs. Diezani Allison-Madueke – be in attendance.

Part V111 (30) of the party’s constitution, deals with those who can be members of the caucus. Among those listed as members are the national chairman of the party, the President and his Deputy, Senate President and his deputy, the Leader and Deputy Leader, Chief Whip and Deputy Chief Whip of the party in the Senate.



Leave a Reply