Amnesty Committee: Jonathan Replaces Sani, Datti With Female Lawyer

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the inclusion of Mrs. Aisha Wakil as a member of the Committee on Dialogue and Peaceful Resolution of Security Challenges in the North. This move is to replace Datti Ahmed and Shehu Sani who  rejected their nomination to serve on the committee.

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Dr. Reuben Abati, stated this in a statement on Tuesday. The 26-man committee charged with identifying and engaging key leaders of Boko Haram sect and developing a workable framework for amnesty and disarmament of members of the group has Kabiru Turaki as its chairman.

Abati, however, said the inauguration would still take place at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa. He implored members of the committees to be seated by 8.30am in readiness for the prompt commencement of the inauguration.

The presidential aide also advised members of the committees, who reside outside the Federal Capital Territory, to arrive in Abuja on Tuesday ahead of the inauguration.

On arrival in Abuja, Abati urged them to contact the Permanent Secretary, Special Services, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mrs. Esther Gonda, for further information and logistics support.

Abati said the government would not hesitate to co-opt any individual found to be useful to the quest to end the orgy of violence unleashed by members of the sect.

He said, “My expectation is that this committee would have very robust interactions and if the need arises for government to still co-opt people as Shehu Sani has suggested, it will not hesitate to do so.”



About Author

Comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.