Home SHIPPING & PORT SERVICES FG Sets To Concession 4 Seaports

FG Sets To Concession 4 Seaports

The federal government has concluded arrangements for the concession of four main river ports in the country.

The ports are Onitsha River Port in Anambra State, Oguta River Port in Imo State, Baro River Port in Niger State and Lokoja Port in Kogi State.

While the Onitsha River Port is said to have been completed and commissioned by President Goodluck Jonathan, others are currently under construction. But the Minister of Transport, Sen. Idris Umar, said at a transport stakeholders’ forum in Lagos yesterday, that the concession plan was to ensure that the necessary investment was made to drive ports’ operations.

Umar disclosed that the project would be complimented by enviable maintenance dredging of the Lower River Niger channel as an ongoing initiative that would suffice, after the completion of capital dredging.



Leave a ReplyCancel reply

Exit mobile version